The Hurricane

 

Southern goodness...

Southern goodness...

Gawd, they are friggin cute

Gawd, they are friggin cute

my lil family

my lil family

 

This is just a show.  He's not this sweet.

This is just a show. He's not this sweet.

hmmm, this looks familiar.  Have I taken this picture before?

hmmm, this looks familiar. Have I taken this picture before?

Baby Goodtimes!

Baby Goodtimes!

So I know it looks like I never leave the house.  I swear I do .  I’ve been sick for a while, and don’t feel like doing much of anything.  Even if I weren’t sick I’d still be coming home from work and sitting on the couch watching t.v.  You know why?  Cause I friggin love t.v.  Alright, I said it.  I love t.v.  I’m a t.v. junkie.  I come home from work at 2 and I watch the previous nights episodes of The Daily Show and The Colbert Report.  Then, as of late, it’s Ellen or Oprah,  I know I should be 40 with 3 kids and stretch marks.  Then I’ll usually watch the nightly news with Brian Williams, then Countdown with Keith Olberman and The Rachel Maddow show.  I’d be really afraid to see how much t.v. I do watch on a weekly basis.  I’m doing other things while the t.v. is on though.  Like cooking or scrapbooking (more on that in a minute) or computer-ing.  I’m a total schlub, I know.  I need to be more active.  Once I don’t have a nasty cough anymore I’m gonna get back on the Wii Fit and the treadmill, and get my ass into honeymoon bikini shape.

So, I’m making this scrapbook of our trip to Mexico.  It’s coming along great.  I just want everyone to know that it’s not one of those over the top fancy scissors and stupid stickers and shit scrapbooks.  I’m not sure if most of you are aware of how far this scrapbooking thing can go.  I work for an online photo ordering business called scrapbookpictures.com.  On a daily basis I see more trips to Disneyland and more soccer games and new babies that the human brain can even imagine.  The reason why is that the women ordering these photos stay home all day with God’s latest little miracle and they scrapbook.  They spend a ridiculous amount of money on fancy papers, scissors that cut in weird shapes, stamps, ribbon, stickers and various other crap for these scrapbooks.  There are even people who teach  classes and seminars on how to scrapbook.  There are conventions and even scrapbook cruises.  Some of the creations that come out of this are pretty cool, but waaay too detailed.  I follow a couple blogs from two of my customers, who are famous scrapbookers, because they are so damn creative with everything they do.  It’s amazing, but not for me.  With my scrapbook, I’m trying to keep it simple.  Yes, I bought fancy papers, all I’ve done is put pictures on my fancy paper.  It looks awesome.  I can’t wait to show it off.  For all the smack I talk about all the silly scrapbookers, I really have no room to say a damn thing.  I’m a scrapbooker.

Remember that roll of film I told you about that I found in my Paw Paw’s camera?  Well, I developed it and the pictures actually came out!  They are of the aftermath of Hurricane Betsy in my grandparent’s backyard.  A tree fell on the house, and my Mom told me the living room window was blown out.  That’ why you board up the windows during a hurricane.  Here are the photos:

 

That's my mom and Aunt Sharon, I believe.

That's my mom and Aunt Sharon, I believe.

My Mom is the second oldest of five children.  It goes as follows: Uncle Warren, my Mom Clare, Aunt Sue, Aunt Karen, and Aunt Sharon.  It’s so bizarre to see them all as kids, me and my cousins are the spitting image of them!  It’s pretty cool.

 

Big broken tree

Big broken tree

 

My little Mommy

My little Mommy

All the kids.  I don't know who the kid is hugging my Uncle.

All the kids. I don't know who the kid is hugging my Uncle.

That's my Paw Paw

That's my Paw Paw

After seeing these and sharing them with you guys, I think I’m gonna put up some childhood photos.  Like Rob did on his Facebook page.  I’m gonna copy him.

2 thoughts on “The Hurricane

  1. There’s a lot of cuteness going on in your life. Between Baby Goodtimes and the dogs. The old pictures from your Paw Paw’s camera are fantastic. That shit needs to be framed or something.

  2. I love your world 🙂 Do you have any more pics of your pawpaw? Is it just me or does Mike look just like him? And his mom!! the resemblance between you and your mom is insane!

Leave a Reply

