Laissez Les Bons Temps Roulez

 

it's clean now...

it's clean now...

pretty weeds

pretty weeds

Mardi Gras!!!!!

Mardi Gras!!!!!

 

My Maw Maw made this

My Maw Maw made this

As I was wiping this clean the top of it flew off and shattered.  I was so upset, I cried.  There are two keys, the other is fine, and they both hung in my Grandparent’s house for as long as I can remember.  So, when my Mom went down there to clear up the estate mess I asked her if she would grab them for me.  She brought them home and I was so excited to have them hanging in my house.  I kept the non-broken part of that key and I hope to do something with it.

 

gumbo yaya!

gumbo yaya!

FYI: While preparing the gumbo I had read the cooking time incorrectly and thought it said 11 hours, when in fact it said 1 1/2 to 2 hours.  Except it looked like this, 11/2.  I thought that meant 11 and a half hours.  I knew gumbo took a while to make, but I wasn’t prepared for 11 hours.  So Rob and I fried the sausage and okra, and chopped the veggies and prepared the stock in the wee hours of Sunday morning, 12:30.  While doing this there’s a knock at the door.  It’s a hobo.  I didn’t hear what he said cause the dogs were barking, but I know I looked terrified because Rob looked back at me then turned to the hobo and told him we couldn’t help him.  Apparently he wanted a blanket.  And had I known that’s all he wanted I might’ve given him one.  It’s just creepy as hell to have some random hobo at your door in the middle of the night.  In my mind this guy was gonna kill us and I wanted him gone.  It was a weird night.  The house was eerily quiet, cause Shauna was gone, and the sensor lights in the driveway wouldn’t turn off, they rarely ever come on.

I feel bad for not helping the hobo, but I know he’s ok cause Rob and I saw him in front of Safeway the next day.  I still feel bad though.  He should just understand that knocking on strangers doors in the middle of the night is not ok.

 

don't choke on the baby

don't choke on the baby Jesus!

Today was pretty great.  After getting up at 6 am to prepare the gumbo for what I thought would be an 11 hour cooking time.  It was just after I had finished brewing some coffee that I realized that the cooking time was only 1 and a half to 2 hours.  I went to sleep on the couch.  

I was so nervous about how well the gumbo came out, it was my first time making it.  Once everyone started eating it I was relieved.  Maybe they were just being nice, they all loved it.  The King Cake was a big hit too, and Joy got the baby!  I’m really glad I decided to do this.  I really miss New Orleans, especially Mardi Gras.  I miss the parades, and dressing up on Mardi Gras day and staking out your spot early in the morning.  I also miss the city shutting down for this gigantic party, and not having school for three days.  I’ve never experienced Mardi Gras as an adult, and would really love to one day.

 

Molly was bored and found herself exploring the roof

Molly was bored and found herself exploring the roof

My brudder's new car

My brudder's new car

 

pretty, girly things

pretty, girly things

Mardi Gras mambo, mambo, mambo....It's a silly Mardi Gras song

Mardi Gras mambo, mambo, mambo....It's a silly Mardi Gras song

Let the good times roll.

2 thoughts on “Laissez Les Bons Temps Roulez

  1. the motion lights were on all weekend in the driveway because instead of holing up in a hotel, as planned, i decided to hole up in the driveway. also, the hobo was me, too. dressed as a hobo.

Leave a Reply

