3 years

Today is the three year anniversary of my dad’s death.  It’s the first year that I haven’t felt melancholy.  Maybe I’m just distracting myself with various other things.  I think I’m just in a different place now.  I wanted to do something today to commemorate him so I decided to share some of my favorite photos of him.  These are photos taken from his childhood to days before he passed.  I come from a family of photographers so there were always cameras around.  I feel very fortunate to have so many photos of him.

3597027

Circa 1953

3596996

Circa 1955

3596999

Dad and Uncle Brad goofing off.

3597005

I love this picture of my parents.

2119160

I called these glasses, Coast Guard issued, “nerd glasses” when I was little.

2133650

April 11th 1981

erin002

December 5th 1983

My dad gave me the nickname Peanut Pants, because I apparently looked like a peanut when I was a baby.

Rob actually took this picture of my dad and put it in a locket with a photo of me and gave it to me as a wedding gift the night before we got married.

erin038My dad was in the Coast Guard for 20+ years.  He was transferred to Portland in 1996, so we packed up in New Orleans and headed west.  When he retired in 2000 (?) he said the first thing he was going to do was grow  out his beard.  And that he did.

erin026

My first taste of popcorn.

3601273

We used to go to Lake Ponchitrain and throw rocks.  A favorite pastime.  As I got older we would take bike rides along the lake, and we would watch speedboat races and root for the Popeyes boat.

2119089

This was taken when my dad came home for a visit from his two year transfer onto a Coast Guard ship sailing the Pacific and Bering Sea and various other places.  It was his first time meeting Cameron.

Cameron028

My dad played the piano all the time.  My favorite song he played was Linus and Lucy by Vince Girauldi.  It’s from the Peanuts cartoons.

1461265i

His 54th birthday, October 1st 2005

3597023Piano Man

Dad_Mt. HoodiI think this is my favorite photo of him.  I have this photo framed next to my bed.

2693959iFamily vacation July 2006

2940378iThis was the last photo taken of him.  It was in celebration of my mom getting her would care certification.

My dad was the best.  He was kind, gentle, funny, generous, talented and thoughtful.  Before he died everything was falling into place.  Mom had just been certified as a wound care nurse, Cameron had just completed his first year of high school and found his calling in the band, I had moved in with Rob and we put an offer on a house on August 4th, it was accepted that night.  My dad had finished recording a song where he played all the instruments and vocals, as well as finished building a patio in the backyard the night before he passed.  It was almost as if he knew we were all going to be OK.  And we are.  We miss him so much, it physically hurts.  I feel lucky to have had the time with him that I did.

I love you and miss you dad.

2 thoughts on “3 years

  1. Well, I just cried at work in front of everyone. 🙂

    Love you, Lady.

    P.S. My favorite is the Little Cowboy picture where he’s holding the puppy…ALSO, in the photo right beneath it, your dad totally looks like Brad Pitt.

    Hee hee.

    You obviously will never forget, and you will never get “past it”. You’ll just cry less and less as time goes on, but still when you need to.

    As more time goes by for me, I think more about my sister’s life than of her death. And I think that’s why people cry less and less as that time goes by. And why the meloncholy is less frequent – That blow to the head, that shock and surprise and initial anger you feel starts to subside, letting room in for just honoring their lives and the time you had.

    Thank you for sharing the pictures. They’re wonderful.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

