She’s Having a Baby

It’s been over a month since we found out, and shared it with the world for that matter.  We’re having a baby.  I think I’m still in a bit of shock.

When I first took the test I really wasn’t expecting anything.  I just thought I was late, but just to be sure I took the test.  It was exactly a week to the day away from our 1 year wedding anniversary.  I wish I could’ve seen the look on my face when I saw the word ‘pregnant’ show on the test.  I had to sit down.  I didn’t even know what to think, what to do next.

I tried calling Rob to see where he was and when he’d be home.  I couldn’t get a hold of him so I went on about my day.  I went to Katrina’s to pick her up cause we had plans that day.  Turns out Rob was next door helping our friend, Chris, move his t.v.  Before we left her apartment I gave Katrina the test.  We both cried.  A lot.  So yes, Katrina knew before Rob did.  I didn’t want to tell him in front of other people.  I wanted it to be a moment for us I guess.  Katrina would’ve been next on my list anyway.  Throughout the day I was trying to think of how I was going to tell Rob.  And our parents.  Do you just say, Hey I’m pregnant!  Or do you think of some creative way to tell them?  Or not tell them until the 2nd trimester?

After spending the day out with Katrina, which included visiting my mom at work (which was so very very hard to not say anything, cause I wanted Rob there too and I didn’t want to tell her at work), I went home to spill the beans.  All I could think about the moments before telling him was how I’m about to change his life forever.I told Rob I bought him something while we were out and that he needed to close his eyes.  I put the book What to Expect When You’re Expecting in his hands with the pregnancy test on top.  He opened his eyes and smiled and said Really?  Yup.  I cried some more and talked about what was to come.

We told the parents that following Thursday.  I told my brother to hold out his hands and close his eyes.  All he said was ‘I hope it’s not a baby’.  Well…not yet.  Mom cried.  Cameron was happy.  He’s been asking me for some time when I’m going to make him an uncle.  Rob’s folks were also excited.  Once the parents knew, we made the “official” announcement.  Facebook.  I’m not sure if it’s a good thing or bad thing.  We just didn’t have the time or energy to call everyone we knew one by one, and this was one way of killing 200+ birds with one stone.  Sort of impersonal but oh well.

About two weeks ago I had my first appointment with an OB/GYN.  It was with a doctor I’ve never met before.  She ended up being perfectly nice, thankfully.  It was a long appointment.  She did a physical exam, asked a bunch of questions, answered questions, and gave us a bunch of information about pregnancy.  Then she wheeled in the ultrasound machine.  In most of the reading I’ve done you typically don’t get an ultrasound until around 10 weeks.  I was 8.  As soon as she inserted the wand (yes, it was a vaginal ultrasound) we could see it.  We could see it’s tiny little heart flickering, and make out it’s head and eyes, and it’s little nubby arms and legs.  It was at that point that it became real.

The head is on the right.  The weird circle thing above it’s head is the yolk sack, which disappears between 10 and 12 weeks when the placenta then takes over.

Up until seeing this I had this sense of all of this being completely unreal.  I’m not showing yet, with the exception of my tummy bloat so it’s hard for me when people want to touch my stomach and talk to the baby.  I think I’ll feel differently once I do start showing and once I feel comfortable with people grabbing at me.  Which I can’t guarantee that I’ll be OK with that.

I set up my next two appointments with a midwife.  I would like to attempt this as naturally as possible, but I also know that there is great pain involved.  Do I want to be the hero or do I want to scream my way through this?  I’ve decided that I’m not going to make any rules on the way I want to do this, and however I’m feeling when the time comes is how I will decide what to do.

The only way I know I’m pregnant is the occasional nausea with no vomiting (thank god), and the super awesome fatigue.  I keep having to remind myself to not drink all the coffee in the world, and that I can’t have a Jack and Coke when I play pictionary at the bar.  I almost feel kind of lucky that I’m unemployed right now because I don’t think I could function with the incredible fatigue.  My daily routine has changed significantly due to the fatigue.  I nap every single day for anywhere from 1 to 3 hours.  And that’s on top of 8-10 hours of sleep a night.  My energy level has taken a hit, and because of that the house work suffers.  Rob has been a saint and is helping out a bunch.  This is just a taste of what’s to come, I know, but I’m ready.

I just can’t believe how quickly things change.  We’ve wanted this for some time now.  It’s just such a shock to have your life go from completely normal to what the hell? in a day.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m ecstatic, but I’m also a little sad to see my old life go away.  But I’m know it’s going to be worth it.

At this point I am 10 weeks in.  Baby was measured as being about an inch at the time of the ultrasound, so by the next appointment it should be at least 1.5 inches.  A lot of baby websites and books compare the size of the baby to a piece of fruit.  At 10 weeks baby is a prune, apparently.

As for the baby, I have no preference on sex.  Rob says he wants a girl 49% and a boy 51%.  His family thinks it’ll be a boy.  Whatever it is, I just want it to be healthy.  The little bean will be arriving on or around March 23rd.  So mark your calenders people!

My next appointment is in early September, and I’ll be sure to let you know how it all goes!

3 thoughts on “She’s Having a Baby

Leave a Reply

