The question of the year: Boy, girl, puppy or monster?

Well friends, we are officially 4 months into this pregnancy and the question we keep getting, and asking ourselves is “What is it?”.

Two days ago at the 16 week checkup the midwife, who I absolutely love, ordered the ultrasound.  So, sometime in two weeks or so this question will be answered.  However, when I  called to follow up with scheduling this appointment the girl on the other end of the line was not so nice, and she said that there are no available appointments in the next two weeks.  Are you kidding me?  Of all the locations Kaiser has in the Portland area there is not one free ultrasound machine available in the next two weeks??  I don’t buy it.  So now we’re on some urgent wait list for an appointment.  Whatever.  Just one more reason for me to dislike them.

For now we’ll just focus on all the awesome pregnancy related things happening.  At the appointment the other day the midwife stated that I was the poster child for second trimester symptoms.  Those lovely symptoms include things like headaches, round ligament pain (which is SO awesome), nosebleeds (I’ve never had a bloody nose in my life until now.  I woke up this morning to blood running down my face.), crazy dreams, occasional nausea, aversions to food (tomato based foods are out of the question anymore.  Not because they taste bad, but because the acidic tomatoes tear my tummy apart.), back pain, cold sores (ya know, those hideous bumps of nasty on your lip.  Apparently it’s pretty normal for pregnant women to get these.  Score!), and of course gas.  But that’s really nothing new, I’ve always been a fairly gassy person and if you really know me you already knew that.

Despite all the lovely things that come along with this I’m feeling pretty good.  I’ve been going to acupuncture which has been a huge help with the nausea and vomiting.  The fatigue I had in the beginning is relatively none existent.  I’m not at my normal 100% energy level by any means, but I can get through the day without feeling like I’m going to fall over due to exhaustion.  I’ve been able to leave the house and actually do things, which is really exciting.

I’ve begun knitting again, and my first project was a receiving blanket for the baby.  I bought the yarn back in May at a store in Baton Rouge when I was visiting there.  It’s hard to find a nice plush baby yarn.  So when I found it I bought 3 skeins.  My plan was to use it as a gift for whatever friend of mine was going to have a baby next.  I decided to use it for my own little critter.  I was partly disappointed with the end result.  Only because it was my first knitting project in a long time, and it ended up wider on one end because as I went along I was knitting tighter.  I actually managed to not screw up the stitch count once, which is a first for me I think.  I also crocheted scalloped edges, which is something I’ve never done.  It’s definitely not the most polished blanket, but it’s the thought that counts, right?

While at the appointment the other day, the midwife gave us a bunch of papers, including a list of childbirth classes.  I think I’m most interested in the Bradley Method which “Embraces the idea that childbirth is a natural process and that, with the right preparation, most women can avoid pain medication and routine interventions during labor and birth. It’s named after American obstetrician Robert Bradley, who developed the method in the late 1940s”.  I’m pretty sure I can do this.  The idea is that a coach is there to help you relax and breathe properly through the different stages of labor without medication.  You can read more about it here.  Also included in the stack of papers were the hospital registration forms, and birth certificate and social security number forms.  Upon looking through these and coming across the social security number form, it hit me.  We’re going have a person.  It’s not just a baby anymore.  We’re going to bring an entirely brand new person into this world.  It’s crazy!  Rob said we should not give it a social security number and keep it off the grid just to see what happens.  Prolly not.  And a birth certificate form?  We have to name this child?  We have to decide what this person will be called for the rest of his or her life?  Or until they’re old enough to change their name at least.  This is a LOT of responsibility.  Not that I didn’t know that before, but I guess it’s just becoming more real.  I’m fully ready and willing to take on this challenge of bringing a whole new person into the world.  And that little person will be named Algernon.

“Hello, babies. Welcome to Earth. It’s hot in the summer and cold in the winter. It’s round and wet and crowded. At the outside, babies, you’ve got about a hundred years here. There’s only one rule that I know of, babies—God damn it, you’ve got to be kind.”
– Kurt Vonnegut

3 thoughts on “The question of the year: Boy, girl, puppy or monster?

  1. Don’t listen to Shauna. She is clearly insane and trying to wreck your unborn child. Particularly if it’s a girl.

    If you name your girl child Mustached Man, well… I don’t even know what. Just don’t.

  2. Sorry the name Sailor is already taken. BUT, I came up with a name ALMOST as good…

    Robots

    Robots Campbell.

    You know you love it!

Leave a Reply

