Photos and a Shower

We had these photos taken a few weeks ago by our wedding photographer, Andy Orenstein.  This is just a small taste of what we did, and I am so happy with the photos.

Aside from these awesome pics we’ve been fairly busy.  Last weekend my mom threw us a shower.  My cousin Kristin flew in town for the weekend, and Rob’s brother Chris, his wife Kristin and their little boy Asher came down from Everett to celebrate with us.

The shower was amazing.  My mom used all my old baby toys, blankets and clothes as decorations, which I thought was a great idea.

My mom even made those blankets for me when I was a bebe.

That’s the sock monkey my mom made me, I chewed on his tail as a child.  And yes, that is the Snuggle bear.  My mom had the piano music open to Vince Guaraldi’s Linus and Lucy.  It was my favorite song that my dad played on the piano.  There were baby photos of Rob and I everywhere.

For favors, my mom made gummy candy kabobs-In case you didn’t know, gummy candies are an important part of mine and Rob’s diet.  We played a game where we had to guess the price of the baby product.  Rob and I lost that one.  We also played a game where one person had to be blindfolded and diaper a leaking water balloon.  Rob almost won that one.  He did pretty well, considering almost everyone else’s balloons popped.

Mom also had a deeeelicious, and very cute cake made for us.

We received a ton of gifts.  I’m not kidding, an actual ton.  We got a lot of stuff we needed including our stroller and car seat (baby now has a way to get home from the hospital), bassinet, high chair, sling, and of course lots of adorable clothes.  We also got some really cool handmade gifts including hats made by Darcy, my friend Katie’s mom, a crocheted bear from Katrina (who very sadly could not be there because apparently grad school is more important.  Kidding!), a crocheted blanket from my mom, a Muppet quilt made by my sister in law’s mom, Sherene, I’m pretty sure there’s more.

I also got some gifts for me!  Joy made me a heat pack for my back, which I haven’t used yet because I need to clean my microwave.  My Aunt Karen gave me nice some nursing pajamas.  Sister in law Kristin gave me a care package with slippers, and a heat pack.  My mom surprised me with one of my favorite gifts, and by far the most sentimental.  She scrapbooked me a new baby book.  It was awesome.  Of course it made me cry like a baby.  It had a lot of pictures I haven’t seen in a long time, and a lot of me and my dad.  It was perfect.

Thank you mom for a fabulous shower.

I wish my cousin could have stayed longer, but I’m so glad she was able to come at all.  She’s been a pillar in my life since I was born.  She was my maid of honor in our wedding and has always been there when I needed her, and vice versa.  In fact, while she was here she found a mark on Diego’s eye (she’s a veterinarian) and we had to take him in to the vet.  I can’t wait to have her here again to meet the kid.  I miss you already, Kristin!

Wednesday marked 35/35.  35 weeks, with 35 days left.  More and more I feel like I’m not going to make it to my due date.  I guess it’s just a hunch.  This last week I’ve been having more frequent Braxton Hicks contractions, not that that’s a sign of coming labor or anything, and they’re not painful but they sure do take my breath away.  I have been starting to have that “I’m done being pregnant” feeling.  I really do love being pregnant, but there is not one minute in the day where I can say I’m comfortable.  I haven’t been sleeping well for months now, but it seems to be getting harder and harder to get good rest.  Every time the baby wiggles now it’s like having tiny fists grinding against innards (cause that’s actually what’s happening), and the best feeling is when he moves in such a way that I get what it referred to as “lightning crotch”.  That’s when the baby jerks around and I feel a ton of pressure and a twinge of pain shooting through my cervix.  Sometimes when that happens I think oh shit, this is it.  That’s how much pressure I feel.  I like knowing he’s there, but he’s so big now it’s becoming pretty uncomfortable.  What’s worse is that he’s most active late at night and into the wee hours of the morning.  I’ve been punched/kicked out of my sleep on multiple occasions.  My back hurts all the time.  All.  The.  Time.  I know I’ve bitched about all this many, many times, blah blah blah, but it’s rough.  There’s so much I want to get done around the house before this baby comes, and I have the drive but just no energy.  I’ve also been feeling pretty anxious, and at times very emotional.  Out of the blue I’ll cry, and it’s not just any regular cry it’s pure uncontrollable sobbing.  It’s like nothing I’ve experienced before.  I guess the hormones have hit.  As for the anxiety, I don’t know.  I guess I can be an anxious person, and I suppose something pretty huge is about to happen in my life, but it’s one of the worst feelings.  I’m afraid one of these days I’m going to send myself into a panic attack.  But I will do my best to not do that.  Okay, I’m done complaining for now.

I found this article on Jezebel and found it to be pretty true to what I’ve felt all along.  Why does no one talk about this stuff?  You don’t hear your pregnant friends talking about their leaky nipples (Well, unless you’re my girlfriends, you hear it from me).  Why do women feel like they can’t say anything about this stuff?  When someone asks me how I’m feeling I’m honest and I tell them how everything hurts, and how I can’t sleep and if they want me to further describe what exactly is happening with my body I’d be more than happy to.  I’m an open book people!

I’m now taking bets on when baby boy will make his appearance.

4 thoughts on “Photos and a Shower

    • I’m thinking I’ll go into labor on the 19th and have him on the 20th. That’s the first day of spring, the day of Devo’s good fortune and the day after the full moon!

  1. The unfortunate part is the whole crotch pain jag thing is only going to get worse. My tail bone was killing me towards the end with Owen, for the last 3 weeks it was torture to sit or lay down (walking, while painful, was a little better).

    Also, up until my due date, I had no stretch marks…then I went another 2+ weeks and I had them all over my hips, boobs and the back of my knees…oddly not my belly. I think it was because I was retaining a lot of water weight.

    Best thing ever for sleeping at this point for me was using a ton of pillow: head and shoulders propped up for less heart-burn, pillow behind me so I wouldn’t roll onto my back, and another one between my knees.

    I’d also recommend getting a belly band if you don’t have one already. It really helps with the lower back pain, and after you give birth it feels a lot better to wear something like that (at least, it did for me!).

    I think people don’t talk about this stuff mostly because they don’t want to be a downer or stress you out.

    Also, the poop thing is for realsies. Totally happened to me too. No one working in a maternity ward is going to be surprised because it really does happen to pretty much everyone.

    Sorry I didn’t get back to you about handing down some kiddy stuff yet! The weather got super nasty that week and then I spaced it.

    • Oh man Deanna, I’ve had everything you’ve said! The tailbone has actually gotten better over time. I did get a maternity belt a while ago, and it has helped for sure. I thought I was going to be in the clear for stretch marks, and then about 4 or 5 weeks ago I saw this little purple mark. Now they’re all over the bottom of my belly, oh well! I do sleep with a formation of pillows, including what has become known as “the ramp”. It’s this wedge pillow I put under my belly, and really helps support it. I’m fully prepared to accept the fact that #2 is going to happen, and that’s fine. I’ve hid nothing from Rob, or anyone for that matter, and I think at that point during labor it’ll probably the least of my worries:)

      I honestly completely forgot we talked about the kiddy stuff! There’s some pregnancy brain for you;)

Leave a Reply

