Mother’s Day

Today was my first Mother’s Day.

When I woke up this morning at 8:45 (Max was still asleep!) I went downstairs to find a display of gifts for me on the table.

Rob used a photo I had taken of Max as inspiration for this painting.  It’s adorable-y weird and I love it.  And it actually looks like Max.  I hung it in Max’s room above the changing table.  There was also two bags of cheese popcorn and fancy chocolate truffles and my favorite flowers, gerber daisies.

We had the family over for dinner.  I had my first glass of wine since July and it was good.

It was nice to be with family today.  I’ve realized more and more since becoming a mother just how incredibly important family is.  I don’t know what I would’ve done in those first few weeks without family, particularly my mom.  She has been such a huge support for me now and throughout my life.  She makes me feel like I can be a good mother because of what she’s taught me, and how she raised me.  I am so grateful to have her in my life and cannot thank her enough for simply being my mom and loving me.

That was so mushy gushy.  Basically, I love my mom and think she’s pretty fantastic.

Leave a Reply

