Parenthood

I’ve been slacking on here lately.  I guess I have a good excuse though.

It’s Thursday afternoon and Max is napping and I’ve got some free time and photos I haven’t shared yet so I thought I’d give the old blog a little attention.

Life lately has been pretty great.  My days are spent hanging out with Max and Rob, changing stone ground mustard-y diapers, listening to the plinky nursery rhyme music Max’s toys play, trying to decipher what Max’s cries mean, taking lots of pictures, attempting to drink my coffee before it gets cold, and making sure I get out of the house at least once a day.  I know a lot of that doesn’t sound like great fun, but actually it is.  Before Max was born the things I looked forward to were things like going out with my friends (which I still very much look forward to, probably more so now) or going to see a movie.  Now I look forward to taking photos of the babe, and hanging out with Max and Rob in Max’s room while he plays.  I can’t tell you how much I love life right now.

Even though my sleep is interrupted by a hungry baby 2 to 4 times a night, I don’t mind getting up because the moment I look over to that hungry baby all I see is a big cheesy grin between those fat marshmallow filled cheeks that, lately, is accompanied by a high pitched squeal.  He makes my heart ache.  I tell him I love him all the time.  All.  The.  Time.  I can’t help it.  I knew I would love my baby no matter what, but I feel like love isn’t a strong enough word.  I’m not sure there are words that could express how I feel.  Wow, getting a little sappy here aren’t I?   But seriously guys, look at these chunky legs:

And his sleepy little face:

And the wrinkles on his forehead:

And look at him trying to shove his fist in his mouth:

And look at him holding his toy!  He can hold things!:

And these  little curls, and tiny ears kill me:

And looking at his little fat rolls makes me want to nibble on them:

Sometimes I look at him and think I can’t believe I made this.

He  is amazing.  Whenever someone tells me how cute he is or how awesome his hair is, I am filled with mommy happiness.  People always say how they can’t imagine their lives without their children.  I can.  I can because it wasn’t that long ago and frankly it was awesome, and I miss it.  That said, my life now is better than I could’ve ever imagined and I wouldn’t trade it for anything.

If you’ve managed to get through all my gushing and baby photos, congrats.  I think I’m turning into one of those “Mommy Bloggers”.

One thought on “Parenthood

  1. Erin, thanks for sharing all of these gushy, lovey thoughts! It refreshes my memory of the days with my little first-born Katrina. The amazing thing is that you feel such love for a second child too! Oh, to be a mother!! And what a beautiful Max!

Leave a Reply

