Weekend Fun

It’s July, which means it’s finally summer time here in Oregon.

This last Saturday we packed up the kid and headed to the coast.  We met Rob’s parents their friend Ellen and Rob’s Aunt Christi and her husband Greg in Seaside for lunch.  After lunch we checked out an antique store and book store before heading to Del Ray Beach.  I had never been to this beach before and I’m not sure I’d go there again.  As we approached the beach Greg, who we were following, drove past the parking lot, right onto the beach.  There were tons of cars parked on the beach.  Something about that seemed so wrong.  Once we got there, I wanted to get Max out of the car and dip his tiny feet in the ocean.

He had napped a little bit in the car, so he was already a little pissy.  This just threw him over the edge.

I don’t blame him for being upset.  The water was pretty damn cold, and if someone had made me put my feet in it against my will, I’d be pissed off too.  But it was all worth it for the photos.

Aren’t we just the cutest?

Christi and Greg

After our 10 minutes spent on the beach we hopped back in the cars and made our way to Astoria where Christi and Greg live on their super cool houseboat.  We spent the afternoon lounging on the deck basking in the sun.  It was perfect.  Max and Grandpa Joe

We drove home that evening with an extremely fussy baby.  We took highway 30, a way we hadn’t taken before and it was gorgeous.  If I wasn’t the one driving I would’ve been snapping photos from the passenger seat.

Sunday we spent the day cleaning our backyard with a little help (ok a lot of help) from my good friend, Joy.  She went to town weeding our incredibly neglected garden.  (Thanks Joy!)  We also picked a  bunch of strawberries that had ripened.  We planted them last year and they’ve taken over the garden this year.

I used those strawberries to make a strawberry cake for our 4th of July barbeque (It was pretty damn good.  Katrina you missed out!).  Last year we hosted a barbeque and did so again this year.  Our friend Tony smoked some ribs and they were deeee-licious.  We had a ton of food including multiple homemade pies, Rob’s deviled eggs, my strawberry cake and baked mac n cheese.  And of course we had the great company of our friends.

Finally found a carrier Max can handle being in.

Our old buddy/roommate, Milo and his lady Amy were in town and spent the evening with us.

We had such a good time.  Once everyone left and the neighbors started up with their fireworks Rob and I were so afraid of Max getting woken up.  Luckily he didn’t.  But with worrying about that, I realized just how different my life is now.  I was showered and in my pajamas by 10:00, while the young couple across the street were hosting a party complete with fireworks.  I felt old, but not in a sad feel sorry for me way.  Just in a, I’m not a kid anymore way.

All in all, it was a fantastic weekend.

Leave a Reply

