Officially a Campbell

It was two years ago today that Rob and I were married.  It has taken me two years to get around to changing my name.

I went back and forth on this for a long time (obviously) and basically it came down to having Max.  When we were in the hospital he was Baby Boy Brown.  I had to double and triple check the birth certificate form to make sure Max’s last name was Campbell and not Brown.  I don’t want to have to constantly correct people about our names.

Another reason I’ve waited so long is because a part of me didn’t want to not be a Brown anymore.  I’m proud of my name and my family that gave it to me and I didn’t want to say goodbye to that.  But a bigger part of me wants to represent my new family that I built and am so very proud of.  So a few weeks ago I went online to figure out what it was I needed to do to change my name.  Apparently you have two years from the date of marriage to change your name because of marriage.  It could be done after the two year mark but you can’t use marriage as the reason for doing so and there’s more paperwork.

So about ten days ago Max and I went to the Social Security office (which had moved from the location we went to first and was not stated on the website!) and I filed the official name change paperwork.  A week later I received my new card in the mail with my new name.

I decided that there was no more appropriate day to change my name then our 2 year anniversary.  I went to the DMV and waited for about 2o minutes only to be told that I forgot my marriage certificate and I couldn’t pay with a debit card.  Great.  So the child and I went and had lunch with Rob at work, then home to attempt a nap (HUGE fail), then back out to the DMV with the things I forgot.  I didn’t have to wait long at all this time because I had a return ticket.  I sat down in front of the blue cloth and had my photo taken.  The middle aged, gold chain wearing man behind the counter said “That is one damn good picture, you’re looking mighty fine.  You don’t tell the husband and I won’t tell the wife”.  Thanks DMV creeper!  While it was probably a little inappropriate for him to be saying these things to me, I was still a little flattered.  I’ll take what I can get, okay?  And to be fair, my photo is pretty good looking.

Happy anniversary, Rob.  I couldn’t be happier with the life we’ve built together and our new little family.  I love you, beard-o.

To see photos and video from that fantastic day click here, and here.

Leave a Reply

