4 Months

Saturday was Max’s 4 month birthday.  I know I say this all the time, but jeez I can’t believe how quickly time is flying by.

This guy is growing by leaps and bounds physically and developmentally.  His new favorite play things are his feet, which have made diaper changing a little more difficult and adorable.  And he’s actually giggling now!  Oh, it’s so awesome and of course it’s insanely cute (everything my kid does is cute, OK?).  At his 4 month well baby visit this morning he weighed in at 16 lb. 11.5oz., was measured at 27 inches, and had a head circumference of 17.24 inches.  That puts him in the 90th percentile for weight and head circumference, and the 95th for height.  He did a lot better this time around with the shots.  He cried for about a minute then was back to his smiley self.

I spoke with the Dr. about his sleeping issues and told him that I had read Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child and had gone through with the extinction method discussed in there.  We actually started it before I had even read about it, or even knew it was referred to as extinction (extinction sounds really awful, huh?).  I told him that it took about 10 days for Max to be able to put himself to sleep within a reasonable amount of time without screaming or crying.  He made me feel really good about my decisions and reassured me that this all completely normal and said I was doing a fantastic job!  That made me feel great.  It’s always nice to be told you’re doing something well.  We also talked about transitioning Max to his own room at night.  Doing that will (hopefully) make it easier to cut back on night time feedings.  The Dr. said to focus on one change at a time so the babe doesn’t freak out.  So, in the next month we’ll transition him.  Until then I’ll enjoy waking up to his little squeals and giggles each morning.

Happy 4 month birthday, Monster.

Leave a Reply

