6 Months Old

My boy is 6 months old.  Six.  Months.  Old.  Half a year, people!  Somebody, pleeeease stop time.  This is happening waaay too fast and I don’t like it.

This baby of mine is quickly turning into a little boy.  I mean, I know he’s a boy but you know what I mean.  His baby-ness is changing all the time.  For instance; he just had a growth spurt a couple of weeks ago and now his fat baby tummy is gone!  He’s long and lean now!  Luckily he still has those fat baby thighs and I’m hoping those cheeks are here to stay.  But now when I look at him I see a little boy.

I cried a little last night thinking about Max’s birth and the nearly two days of labor leading up to it.  I’m still upset about it, but I’ve been looking at it differently lately, more positively I guess.  At least I’m trying to.  Sometimes it’s just so hard to believe that I did that.  That he did that.  That that was the beginning of his life here on this planet.  Part of me wants to relive that experience again.  And again.  And again.  But I think that part of me wants to relive the experience that never actually happened.  The one where everything went according to plan.

These days the Monster passes his time by squealing in delight while slapping whatever his chubby little hands come in contact with, sitting up, jumping around in the jumeperoo, and eating sweet potatoes, carrots, apples and plums (I made them all!).  He is really becoming interested in the dogs these days.  He likes to run his fingers through their hair, then grab it really tightly.   Don’t worry, we’re right there with him just in case one of the dogs snaps.  I’m sure if he could he’d try to put them in his mouth.  Because that’s where everything goes.  Except now there are teeth in that mouth, and those teeth HURT.

TEETH!

He’s got his 6 month checkup next week.  I’m eager to see how much he weighs.  That little booger is heavy.  As for the helmet, we’re on to full time wearing, 23 hours a day.  He’s doing really well with it.  The sock has made all the difference.  I used his 1 hour off today to take some photos.  We saw the helmet guy on Monday and he said his head grew 5mm, which confirmed my suspicion of a recent growth spurt.  He also pointed out where the helmet is doing it’s job, which I was very glad to see.

In 6 more months he’ll be a whole year old.  I’m going to throw the very best 1st birthday party EVER.

Happy half birthday, Monster.

Leave a Reply

