Buy my house?

I am typing this as I sit on my couch in my living room that doesn’t actually look like my living room.  The house is officially on the market now and we’ve had to make some adjustments around here to make the house look appealing to potential buyers.  You know, the staging process.  So I removed any and all photographs of people, which our house was full of.  I was pretty sad to be putting those away, but now they’re in a box at Rob’s parent’s house, which we will be living in fairly soon.  Because we’ll be living there eventually, I will now call it Future House.  Back to staging: Basically we removed a bunch of clutter.  The walls are sparsely decorated and it doesn’t even look like we live here.  Rob and I moved our bedroom downstairs and moved my craft room upstairs.  Both rooms were repainted light gray.  Rob repainted the red trim on the outside of the house and I touched up chipped paint throughout the house.  I’ve been slowly scrubbing the shit out of the grout on the bathroom floor.  I will never EVER lay down white tile.  EVER.  I washed the walls and white trim today.  I don’t think I’ve ever washed walls before.

Yesterday we got our first call from people who were interested in seeing the house.  Their realtor calls me and sets up a time to come by, and we leave the house during that time.  They came by at 9:30 this morning while Rob, Max and I were out having breakfast.  When we came home the sign was in our yard.  My heart kind of sank as we drove up to the house and saw it.  It was exciting and anxiety inducing.  It’s very real now.  At any moment someone could want to buy our house.  Please let that moment be soon.  But realistically, Rob and I both know that that time could be months from now.  Cross your fingers, pray to your God(ess), do a dance, cast a spell, stick a pin in a voodoo doll, whatever hocus pocus you believe in, send some good juju our way, will ya?

While I’m on the topic of change, I’m going to be making some changes to the old blog very soon.  She’s going to get a full makeover including a new name.

Also on the topic of change, I have to go change a crappy diaper now.

2 thoughts on “Buy my house?

  1. Ugh, I can’t imagine trying to have the house always clean and ready to show. That would be exhausting all on it’s own. With a baby in tow, that is a near impossible task.

    • IT’S SO HARD. We can’t leave the mail strewn across the table and the dishes need to be washed, dried and put away. And I can’t let the laundry sit in the basket for a week before finally putting it away. Nap times are marathon cleaning challenges around here.

Leave a Reply

