8 Months Old

Max’s eighth month of life has brought many new things like two brand new pearly whites.  That’s right, he’s got a total of four teeth now. And he was able to put those teeth to good use at his first Thanksgiving dinner.  He had some turkey, tried some mashed potatoes (not his favorite),  but pretty much stuck with the pureed squash, yogurt drops and super puffs.  Kid loves his food.  Did you know that baby snacks are delicious?  They really are.  Rob gets after me all the time for eating the kid’s snacks.

He is SOOO CLOOOSE to crawling.  He gets up on his hands and knees and rocks back and forth, but no real movement.  Rob has daily “crawling training sessions” with him. When he does start crawling and is getting into everything I’ll just throw him out into the chicken coop.

And man does he make doing anything more challenging:

He’s also become quite the night owl.  Usually bedtime is between 7 and 8, but lately it’s anywhere from 7-11.  One night he was up from 11-3.  He’s become a regular at Monday Movie Night and a thorn in my side when it comes to letting me have my “me time” at night.  I think he’s reached the age where he recognizes that I’m leaving him and if he screams loud enough I’ll come running.  And I do.  And all of this needs to stop.

This little photo shoot didn’t go as smoothly as usual.  I was lucky to get a shot of him smiling while laying down.

He wanted to sit up, not lay down.  So I helped him sit up, and then there was this:

Then I gave him the Happy Apple:

I’m only half joking when I ask this, but is it possible for an 8 month old to manipulate you?  The boy knows what he wants and he knows how to get  it.  And I love him for his assertiveness.  But really, he can take it down a notch or two…

Leave a Reply

