Some thoughts on Christmas

I had this dream, more like an idea, of what I wanted this Christmas to look like.  It was going to be perfect.  When Max and I would get get up in the morning I would bring him out to the tree and his eyes would light up in delight to see all the gifts that had suddenly appeared.  Then he would wake Rob up with his squeals of glee while playing with his new toys.  My mom and brother would come over and we would all have fresh out of the oven cinnamon rolls together while we exchanged gifts.  And we would take the greatest Christmas family portrait ever.

It went no such way.  There were no squeals of glee, or family breakfast.  Max was kind of a pill the whole day, and the cinnamon rolls were more of an afternoon snack instead of breakfast.  And my brother, who I love dearly, was so very very late.  And that family portrait?  Yikes.

In spite of all the imperfections, it was a really nice day.  Mom and I cooked together, and managed to drink every last drop of wine in the house-before dinner.  Max had his ‘Christmas Morning’ after dinner, so he was well rested and not hungry, and all eyes were on him, which is how Christmas will be from now on.  And while our Christmas family portrait didn’t come out as well as I had hoped, it was taken with one of my most favorite presents, my new lens (a Nikon 35mm f/1.8, thanks mom!)!

These are a few of my other favorite things I got:1. A milk glass canister from my brother.  I looooove milk glass.  And I know exactly where I’m going to put this in the Future House!

2. Chicken necklace from Rob.  I saw this when we were at a boutique on SE 28th, off of Burnside.  I told him how much I liked it, and he was a good husband and remembered.

3. This was a pitcher of my Grandma Brown’s.  It came with a handwritten note from her: Clare, this is the little pitcher that belonged to my Grandmother Bradley, Howe.  I would like to have Erin keep it since it would be Great, Great Grandmother to her. Love you, Mom Brown

That one might be my favorite.

I also made a couple of things for gifts, and you can read about and see them here.

Leave a Reply

