Favorite Things: Home Edition

In packing the house up I’ve been faced with having to say goodbye to the things that make this place special.  This is a collection of my favorite things about our house.

First up, the built ins:

Good golly, am I going to miss these.  The shelfs on either side of the fireplace housed our dvd’s and many, many picture frames.  The cabinets in the dining room are perfect for displaying family heirlooms and holding my estate sale found wine glasses.  Sadly, the shelves that once housed our dvd’s are now empty, and the cabinets in the dining room will be packed up by the end of the week.

My little retro kitchen.  If we were staying here, I would give this room some new flooring, appliances, and hardware for the cabinets.  Otherwise it’s perfect.  I love the countertops, and the beautiful wood cabinets.  I think in Future Home I want to get new countertops similar to this formica, but in marmoleum.

I am going to miss my Sex and the City Blue living room.  I know a lot of people probably can’t stand all the bold colors in my house, but I can’t get enough of it (obviously).  You know in the first SATC movie (The only SATC movie in my eyes.  That second one should be forgotten by all) when Carrie paints her apartment blue with white trim?  Well, I just fell in love with that look.  I found out the paint that was used in her apartment was Benjamin Moore’s Electric Blue, bought a can of it and got to work.  I still love the blue walls with white trim.  I also love all the switch plates and outlet covers I Mod Podged. (Cross stitching provided by my lovely BFF Joy, of Joy’s On the Side)

These glass doorknobs are just the prettiest.  Some of them are on the verge of breaking (please don’t notice future buyers!).  I wish I could take these with us.

This is Diego’s perch.  He spends most of his days up on the windowsill watching the passers by, alerting us with a wagging tail or an excited bark that someone is approaching the house.  I’m going to miss coming home and seeing Deej in the window waiting for us.  At Future Home there is an even bigger window that starts about 18 inches from the floor, so I think we’ll be seeing Deej peeking through there.

The red door.  When we were house hunting we both liked the idea of a red door.  So when we came across this place with a red door, we thought this was it.  A red door symbolizes good luck in a lot of cultures.  In China it’s customary to paint your door red to welcome the New Year.  In Scotland a red door can symbolize the mortgage being paid off-HA!  If only.

While these are all things I will miss, there are certainly things about this house that I won’t miss.  Like the bathroom.  The one teeny tiny bathroom with insanely unforgiving white tile.  Future Home has two full bathrooms!  2!  I will also not miss how I can hear Rob talking and working in the basement through the vents all the way upstairs.  Also, I will not miss our super sucky neighbors.

Leave a Reply

