Crafty Times: The Perfectly, Imperfect Quilt

I made a quilt! My first attempt at quilting, ever! I’ve always been interested in it but I always thought it was just way too hard to do. What did I know? I’d never even tried it.

Years ago for Christmas my mom bought me a quilting book for beginners and the fabric to make a quilt. I read the book multiple times but never actually did anything. With Max turning one I wanted to do something special for him and I decided to make a quilt.

I knew I wanted to use some of the fabric I got to use on the bunting I made for his birthday and I wanted it to be the main fabric. When I went to get more fabric I brought a swatch and worked off of that. I chose a green I used in Cameron’s pillow cases and picked a brown, a blue, and a patterned brown with colors. Now, when it comes to design I have a big problem and that is going overboard with color and patterns and a couple of the cardinal rules of quilting according to my book: I chose more than one big print and I mixed stretchy cotton and not stretchy cotton(I’m using technical terminology here). Oh well. I don’t care because I’m just pleased as punch with the end result!

I wanted to do a little something fun with the back instead of just the main fabric. So I made this up all on my own! I’m sure no one’s ever done this before…

Here are the top 5 quilt-y things I learned:

1) Don’t mix stretchy and not stretchy. I did and it bit me in the ass. there are some clearly warped parts, not too bad, but definitely noticeable.

2) Accurate cuts are very important. Duh. No explanation needed.

3) Buy a 1/4 inch quilting foot for your machine. I still haven’t but I’m definitely going to before my next project. I did put a piece of painter’s tape on my machine to mark a 1/4 inch so I would have accurate seams.

4) I hate binding. The pattern I chose had a pretty narrow binding and I think (I hope) that’s why it was so difficult.

5) Quilting is super duper crazy easy. There are a lot of steps, and I think that’s what scared me the most about it, but holy crackers you guys. If I can do it, anyone can do it.

Binding, blech.

I wanted to take it outside and hang it on the clothesline to photograph, but you know we live in Oregon so that was out of the question.

Now I need to decide whether or not I give it to Max now or on his birthday. You know, because he’ll care so much. I’ll probably give it to him on his birthday. Wrap it up nice so he can destroy it. Really it would just be for photos. Whatever, he’ll love it. I’ll tuck him with it at night and he’ll crawl on top of it to sleep. And when he’s older it’ll be the blanket he brings to the grandparent’s house to stay over, and he’ll drag it through the mud and run it over with his bicycle, and it’ll be the final piece to the most amazing fort ever built.

7 thoughts on “Crafty Times: The Perfectly, Imperfect Quilt

  1. It’s a lovely quilt!

    I’m working on my first patchwork piece right now, and then after that I think I’m going to take the plunge and start on my very first quilt. I’m really excited to be able to do it, and I’m looking forward to it! (So much so that I want to scrap the patchwork project I’m doing so that I can get to the quilt quicker, but I’m making myself be patient and get lots of sewing practice first.)

    • Thank you! I was so surprised by how easy it was, but practice is the key. It’s good you’re getting practice in beforehand. I’m excited to start another one!

  2. I’m so impressed! I am taking a quilting class right now with a friend and it’s stressing me out! I think it’s because I’m too anal about having exactly right but you have the perfect attitude and just jump in and do it and it looks awesome!!! The tips you posted were right on as well. Max will love it, I’m sure! Great job! Love, your cousin, VM

    • Thank you Vita! Coming from you that means a lot because you’re so crafty yourself:) I’m with you on the classes, but in the end you’ll have a nice quilt. Can’t wait to get another one started!

Leave a Reply

