The Big Birthday Party

On Saturday March 31st we celebrated Mr. Maxwell’s very first birthday with lots of family and friends.  When I say a lot, I mean a lot.

I was so excited to bust out the decorations I made!  Besides the bunting, I made Martha Stewart’s pom-poms and a garland out of the monthly photos I’ve been taking.  And! And I made a table runner with fabric remains!

While it was wet outside, the sun came out which was the perfect opportunity for some  family photos.  Mr. Maxwell looked so handsome in his little bowtie, and I finally got to wear a dress I got a while ago.

We sang Happy Birthday, led by Mike on the accordion.  I made green velvet cupcakes with cream cheese frosting and there weren’t nearly enough for everyone (sorry!).

After the Happy Birthday singing fun, everyone headed downstairs for a very special performance from the Little Sally Drapers.  This little hodge podge band made up of a guitar, one drum, an accordion and a glockenspiel played Ooh La La by the Small Faces (fitting, eh?) and the Beatles Maxwell’s Silver Hammer (it’s an appropriate song for a one year old, right?).  It was perfect.  Max even did the bouncing booty dance.

There were presents.  Good gravy did this kid get spoiled.  He’d be happy with a broken remote control, but now he’s got all these awesome things.  Some with bells and whistles and sirens and lights and animal noises.  And some simpler things like wooden cars and a wooden pound a peg (which he can totally do) and a red ball (a HUGE hit).  And then there were the sentimental gifts like a book couple of friends brought with colored pencils and markers and had the guests draw and write stories.  How cool is that?  There are some really fantastic things in there drawn by our friends and family.  Rob made a book of all MS Paint drawings (which he’s famous for).  It’s pretty amazing.  And of course there was my quilt.  Yes  I did wrap it after I had taken his 12 month photo on it.  It’s all for the pictures, you know?  I took it out of the box for him and he pulled it over his head and started playing peek-a-boo.  I think he likes it.

I’d say aside from not having enough cupcakes for everyone, and not really being prepared for that many people, it was a total success. And it wouldn’t have been that way without the help of our amazing family and friends.  I know it was a crazy and chaotic scene but was still a great time and I wouldn’t change a thing.  OK, maybe I would’ve made more cupcakes.

And I didn’t cry!  I got a a little teary when The band was playing and when I looked through the book of  drawings and the book Rob had made.  When the party was over, I couldn’t believe it.  I couldn’t believe it had happened, that he was one and that we were beginning a whole new year.

And I swear in that afternoon something changed in Max.  He was so easy going around all those people, and by the end of the day he was able to stand on his own and push his walker.  I guess he’s officially a toddler now.

Leave a Reply

