The First Weekend Away

My cousin/best friend/sister, Kristin called me a few weeks ago and said she would be in Eugene for a friends wedding.  She only had Friday through Sunday there which didn’t leave much time for her to come to Portland to visit us.  It was decided that I would be the family ambassador and go visit her.  Girls weekend!

This was my first time leaving Max for the weekend, or fully overnight for that matter.  I know, it’s kind of sad that it took this long to get away.  I had no hesitations about doing this.  Was I anxious, scared, sad to leave him?  Yes, yes, and yes.  But I wasn’t going to let that stop me.  This was something I needed to do for myself.

A few days before the trip my brother told me that he was working a wedding in Eugene that very same Saturday (not the same wedding, however).  So Friday morning Cameron and I hit the road for Eugene after Kristin called me in hysterics because she was minutes away from missing her flight due to long lines and incredibly rude check in clerks.  I’m side eyeing you, Allegiant!Cam and I got to the Eugene airport just in time to pick up our Kristin.  From there we decided to drive towards our hotel and find some lunch.  We introduced Kristin to 5 Guys and checked into the hotel.  We spent the remainder of the afternoon wandering around Downtown Eugene, in and out of antique shops and keeping cool under the trees.

This was the time where I realized that Eugene is like a really small, kind of boring town.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s a nice place but I just didn’t see what it had to offer that Portland didn’t, besides U of O.

That evening Cam went and stayed at his friends place while Kristin and I went to the rehearsal dinner for her friends.  It was at this place called the Pizza Research Institute.  From what I gathered this place just makes up their own foodie (I really hate that word) type pizza with gourmet ingredients and bizarre combinations.  I broke my ‘no fruit on the pizza’ rule and went with the apple, pear, gouda and walnut.  And boy, it was gooooood.  I even tried their gluten free vegan cheese pizza too, also not bad.  There was a pizza with giant chunks of corn on the cob on it, artichoke hearts-you name it, they had it.

It was also at the Pizza Research Institute where I met and re-met Kristin’s friends.  All graduates of LSU’s School of Veterinary Medicine.  They’re all veterinarians who have dispersed all over the country for work.  I spent the evening hearing stories about dogs and cats and the surgeries they needed and why they needed them, and all these words I didn’t understand.  My cousin even shared many photos of her patients before DURING and after surgeries.  Yeesh.  I retired to the hotel early to let myself rest so I could fully recover from the nasty cold I had.

The next morning we went to the Saturday Market and walked around, bought a few things, had lunch at the Rogue Brew Pub and went back to the hotel to veg out and et ready for the wedding.

At 5:20 two buses left the hotel to take all the guests to the wedding location, Sweet Cheeks Winery, about a 30-40 minute ride.  It was, of course, a beautiful ride, that unfortunately made a lot of us a little carsick.  But once we were there the views more than made up for that.  The evening was beautiful, as was the wedding itself.

It was really great to spend time with all of Kristin’s friends and get to know them each individually, but what was better was being able to spend time with Kristin.  She and I grew up together, spending nearly every day together after school and during the summer.  I’m so glad we’ve been able to keep our relationship so close after all these years.When I got home on Sunday, I felt super proud of myself and kind of a sense of relief.  Like a Phew, I did it type of thing.  I thought about Max and Rob every single minute I was gone, but I never cried.  And now that I know that I can do this and everyone will survive, I can’t wait to do it again.

One thought on “The First Weekend Away

  1. Pingback: 16 Months Old « Baby, let's play house

Leave a Reply

