Kid’s Art Table Redo

I was super eager to get my hands on this and turn it into something new for Max.  This little table and bench belonged to Rob’s mom, Sherri, when she was a little girl.  I assume Rob and his brother, Chris, used it when they were kids.

It’s made out of solid wood.  All I had to do was sand and paint.  And a little reinforcement on one of the legs.It was already blue, which I liked, and decided to go with another shade of blue (Rustoleum’s Lagoon)  and a chalkboard top (leftover from Max’s room).  I went with spray paint because there wasn’t much surface to paint and I didn’t want to buy an entire quart and have a ton leftover.

For the bench I wanted to create a nicer seat so I padded it and covered it with laminated fabric that I found at Fabric Depot.  The laminated fabric is slightly different from oilcloth in that it’s not as thick, and not as glossy.  But it’s an easy to clean surface and the fabric was pretty great.  Although, even though I measured and wrote down my measurements, I failed to refer to them when having the fabric cut so it wasn’t wide enough to cover.  I had to cut it up and sew it in order for it to fit.  Yet one more lesson learned.  ALWAYS CHECK YOUR MEASUREMENTS.I’m pretty pleased with the end result.  Even the mismatched strips of fabric on the bench.I had the table all set up for him yesterday when he woke up from his nap.  He was intrigued by the new thing in the living room.  So I sat him down with the crayons and drawing paper my mom got him and here’s how it went:It’s still the norm for him to put most things in his mouth, but I made sure he didn’t.  He made some scribbles, Rob made some scribbles.  And Max sat there in a daze.  I know a lot of people think he’s still too young for coloring and finger painting, but this is one of the things I’ve looked forward to the most with him.  I don’t believe in age limits for art. I want him to grow up being able to express himself however he feels, and I’m just providing one more outlet for him to do so.

Leave a Reply

