Summa Times: Arch Cape

Each year since Rob and I got married we’ve made a point to spend a few days at Arch Cape.

My mom’s friend and co-worker owns a house there and rents it out to us for a fabulous rate. The house is located about a 2 minute walk from the beach. The beach itself is never crowded and is sort of a dead end beach, meaning there’s a giant cliff wall that you can go around and explore when the tide is low. It’s perfect. And two years ago when Rob and I and a bunch of friends went there for a few days we named it Beach Club.Mom, me and Max drove down on Saturday afternoon and that evening Cameron, Jared, Brady, Jared’s girlfriend Timothy and her friend Sarah joined us. Rob had to work that night so he came on Sunday.Rob and Katie arrived Sunday afternoon and we all made our way straight to the beach where there was sandcastle building (and destroying on Max’s part) soccer ball tossing and general beach shenanigans. My favorite beach activity that day was to find dead washed up jellyfish and throw them at the boys. I threw one in Cameron’s face so he tackled me.When the tide was low enough we went around the cliff and explored the tide pools. Max was less than thrilled to be pulled away from them. But! He was so tired (NO NAPS ON VACATION MOM!) that when Rob carried him back wrapped up in my moms jacket, he fell asleep! In Rob’s arms! That never happens! You know what else never happens? Getting a decent family photo with a toddler.The children built a beach fire in the fire pit they dug, Max did baby beach yoga and I photographed it all. Then I went inside and watched Independence Day because why not? Also, Jeff Goldblum is a fox.

While I had a good time on this trip, I really felt the whole “vacationing with a baby is not a vacation” thing. Because it’s not. In fact, it’s more work to go on “vacation” than it is to stay home. I love my little Max but he sure doesn’t make traveling easy. I sort of missed our trip last year when he was just 5 months old. I especially missed our trip there just days before I found out I was pregnant two years ago.

I know doing things like traveling with him will get easier with time (right?) but it makes the present really difficult. Someone tell me this is true. It will get better right? All that aside, I really did have a good time. It was really nice to spend time with my little family (and extended family) in such a beautiful location.

Until next year, Beach Club.

Check out previous trips to Beach Club here (2009), here (2010), and here (2011)

Leave a Reply

