Just some ramblings

There’s a lot going on within our little family right now and I’m going to tell you about it.

Ready? Aaaaand go!

A couple of weeks ago Max had his 18 month check up and due to the unexplained fevers he’s had his pediatrician had some blood tests and a urine analysis done.  In the 24 hours following his appointment the test results came in via email.  In his CBC a few things came back as flagged: low hemoglobin, high RDW, and high platelet count.

Of course my mind is racing.  Why are these numbers so high?  What does this mean?  What’s wrong with him?  In my frantic state I did the worst thing possible.  I went to Google for answers.

DON’T EVER DO THAT.

Nothing but terrible, horrible things.  I had sent myself into a panic by diagnosing him with the help of Google.  I spoke with the Doctor later that afternoon and he put my mind at ease telling me that nothing is in the danger zone and that there’s nothing to worry about.  For now.  He’s still concerned about the fevers (as am I) and next time he’s got a fever of 101 or higher with no symptoms, I’m to bring him in immediately for further testing.  As for the test results, he said that Max will need to take iron drops to correct the slight iron deficiency he’s got (which would explain the low hemoglobin).  Basically, he’s (almost) perfectly healthy.

He started speech therapy last week and we had our second appointment yesterday.  The therapist is impressed with his ability to communicate with his pointing and “eh” noises and the sign language.  She gave me some paperwork to read with suggestions on how to get him to communicate more and encourage him to speak and form words.

I was getting a little teary in the therapist’s office watching him and thinking about him actually speaking and hearing his squeaky little boy voice.  I can’t wait.As for me, school is great.  Really, really great.  I’m eager to be done and actually start working and doing this thing.  In the meantime, I’m looking for part time, even seasonal work and I’ve been applying to a few places.  One of which I have an interview at on Sunday.  I never thought I’d go back into retail, especially for the holidays (I’m insane), but it’ll bring in money we need and it gets me out of the house.  Part of me is actually really excited about this.  Just the possibility of doing something new, making money (!!!!), and hopefully a sweet discount at this place makes me feel all giddy.  It’s like I’m 16 again and trying to get a job at Target (that’s not where I’m interviewing, BTW).

What’s Rob up to?  Being busybusybusy with the bar, screen printing, and working on a stage adaptation of the Lost Boys put on by friends.  It’s hilarious, and if you’re in the Portland area over the next few weekends be sure to check it out.  More info is here.

A few other notes:

The rains are officially here.  Except for today, it’s blue skies and sunshine, until tomorrow.

I’m super excited for Halloween.

I met Roseanne Barr at a book signing at Powell’s.  This was one of the things on my imaginary bucket list.  It was awesome, and I told her she was my hero and she’s a bad ass and that I love her.  I heard her laugh her famous cackle.  It was amazing and it took everything within myself to not kidnap her and take her back to my house and make her be my real life BFF.

This time of year is always super busy for us, as it is for most people.  I really hope to post here as much as I can.  I’ve got so many posts partially done, but I just can’t bring myself to finish them.  Why?  I don’t know.  I just don’t have the drive I suppose.  Hopefully with getting a job I will become magically inspired to finish other ‘jobs’.  So, cross your fingers for me!

3 thoughts on “Just some ramblings

  1. Hey remember girlie… you have a friend who is a Pediatric Nurse Practitioner! I interpret labs all day long. Use your resources (ME!! not Dr Google who sucks and annoys me and makes me spend at least an hour each day just discounting his randomness to worried mommies and daddies). By the way, he’s a doll and perfect 🙂

    • I totally should’ve called you! I knew as I was doing my own ‘research’ that I was going to regret it. We would love to see you and your boys soon!

Leave a Reply

