I got a job.

This wasn’t exactly planned. I’ve thought about getting a part time job for a while now and last week I went for it. Lets be honest here, we need the money (Who doesn’t?). And I need to remain sane by getting out into the real world and being productive. So, I applied at four different locations of two different stores.

I applied on Thursday, interviewed on Sunday, and started working on Wednesday. You’re probably wondering where this job is. It’s a clothing store that sells on trend fashions, is know for their denim (at least that’s what the orientation video told me), and is also known for their super catchy television ads.

It rhymes with map.
I’m working in retail, something I said I’d never do again. Over the holidays. I’ve officially lost my mind. It’s like I’m 16 again and working at Target except that I’m not 16 and I have a family to provide for so I can’t go out to Shari’s (holla!) after work each night and I feel old here because everyone else is a 19-23 year old college kid with black framed glasses and skin tight pants and lives in a dorm.

But you know, the truth is that I’m really excited. I’m excited to be getting out of the house regularly and I’ll be making money while doing so. I’m excited to be working downtown again, and during the holidays because have I ever mentioned that I love Christmas? And downtown Portland during Christmas is like magic. I’m excited to hear Mariah Carey’s All I Want For Christmas Is You 11 times in one shift and you know I’ll be singing along. I’m excited to see all the fabulous window displays and various Santas at Macy’s and Nordstrom and Pioneer Square. Also, I get a KILLER discount.

So yesterday morning, my first official day of work in over two years, I woke up to a display of flowers, Voodoo Doughnuts and a sweet note from Rob.
I’m a lucky girl to have such a supportive husband.  Especially when that supportive husband doesn’t work during the day (with the exception of some screen printing in the garage) so he can stay home with Max!

This is going to be good for me. I’m still taking my postpartum doula class and I still plan on continuing down that path. But for now I’ve got school, work, and a Rob and a Max. LIVING THE DREAM.

One thought on “I got a job.

Leave a Reply

