23 Months Old

I feel like this last month has produced some significant things in the world of Max.  Mainly in the form of speech.  He had an evaluation with the people at Clackamas County Early Intervention early in the month.  At the follow up appointment we learned that he’s totally fine in all places of growth (fine motor skills, reception, etc.) except for speech.  Obviously.  His score was so low that he qualified for in home speech therapy until the age of three.  He had his first appointment with Teacher Jeff on Tuesday and I think both Max and I learned a few things.  I learned the way children develop speech and some techniques to get Max to make certain sounds.  After his appointment he was saying “ball” without being prompted.  And he still is.  Rob and I are both really excited, of course.  He now has a small vocabulary consisting of following words:Eat, Yeah, Ball, Mama, and Dada.  And Ew, as in “Ew, that’s gross.  And of course there’s the animal sounds and cars and trains and airplanes.Max23Months_01This last month Max has spent a lot of time with some little friends.  We’ve visited the Zoo and Children’s Museum and parks with Judah, and we visited Quinn at his house for a playdate in his super sweet playroom.  I’ve noticed a pattern of Max eating all of his friends snacks when we visit with them.  Seriously, he always wants Judah’s carrots but won’t actually eat them, he’s more of a cooked carrot kind of guy.  At least he tries, right?  Also, I think spending time with kids his age who are talking is also helping him speak.MaxandJudahMax23Months_02^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Some of my favorite photos from the last month, all taken on the iPhone.  I’m making myself carry around my DSLR more often instead of relying on the phone, which takes fine enough photos.  I just like my camera better.23Months_03Max has a favorite movie.  You know what it is?  Dumbo.  The kid loooooooves Dumbo.  Of course he’s always watching Elmo’s World and Mickey Mouse Clubhouse, but Dumbo is special.  For the first time, while he was watching Dumbo, I saw him laughing at the part of the movie where Dumbo’s mom is tickling him and Dumbo hides behind her leg.  He understood that it was funny, and that blew my mind.  He’s learning!  This is one of those parenting moments that only you feel excited by and other people are all Okaaaaaaay.
23MonthsOldLook at this boy.  This boy climbs on everything, is still terrorizing the dogs and generally being crazy.  He keeps us on our toes, especially in parking lots where he likes to bolt when you’re abou to pick him up to put him in the car.  Those are special moments.  That and when we’re outside playing and it’s time to come in it’s like I’ve threatened to kill his puppy.  Good gravy this kid is dramatic.

Remember when he was a wee little baby and he wouldn’t cuddle with me?  Well that’s all changed.  Every morning he and I sit on the couch and watch Curious George together.  He’ll either climb into my lap or nestle under my arm and rest his head on me and it’s the very greatest thing.  I still wish he lay down and take a damn nap with me though.

I’m getting super excited for this guy’s second birthday.

In less than a month I will take the last monthly photo and write the last monthly post for Max.  A part of my heart is breaking, but the rest is bursting with the fiercest love for this kid.
MonthbyMonth_23

2 thoughts on “23 Months Old

    • Thanks Chris! And what a great video, Jaydon is absolutely adorable. I put together a similar video for his first birthday too, it’s somewhere on here. Thanks for visiting the blog:)

Leave a Reply

