24 Months Old

My sweet, stinky, loveable Monster Boy,

You’re two!  Two whole years old, but somehow you seem older.  You’re definitely not a baby anymore.  Two years isn’t a very long time in the  grand scheme of things but it also feels like an eternity.  I don’t know what to say that I haven’t said before.  Your dad and I can’t get enough of you.  We sit together watching you play with whatever your favorite toy of the moment is (lately the Kindle, or one of our phones or those squishy light up koosh balls) and we we your fat cheeks tense up as you grin and giggle because you’ve bopped all the gopher’s heads in the Scout’s ABC game.  The way you pur your index finger to your chin and say Hmmmmm when we ask you a question makes me melt.  You’re a tiny little person with your own big huge personality.  You’re easily excitable and not easily tamed, some of the time.  You’re learning so quickly and almost every day you have a new “word”.  Despite the lack of speech, you have managed to communicate so well with signing.  I never imagined teaching you sign language but now I can’t imagine you not using it.24MonthsInstagramWe don’t always see eye to eye on some thing; naps, when to watch t.v., when to come inside.  But even though we get upset with each other minutes later you’re at your sweetest, giving me hugs and kisses.  I’m not going to lie, the last two years haven’t been easy.  But man, they were totally worth the struggle.  You’ve taught me a lot and I know you’ve got more in store for me, and I’m ready.  I’m ready to take on two.  I’m ready to watch you grow and learn and be the feisty, magical, monster  boy that you are.24MonthsOldx4I’m going to miss taking these monthly photos. 24MonthsOldYou are simply the best thing that has ever happened to me and your dad.  I love our little family and I love that you made us a family.  I love you, WE love you.DSC_0136EiHappy second birthday little boy.Me&Max_24MonthsRead Max’s Birth Story here.  Read about Max’s first birthday here.MonthByMonth_24

2 thoughts on “24 Months Old

  1. Awwwww! I wish I would have done something like this with my boys. So cute! I love this thumbs up picture. And, based on the pictures, he looks a lot like you 🙂

    • Thank you Katie! I saw so many other people doing the same monthly photo thing when I was pregnant and thought it was a great idea. And he *just* learned how to do thumbs up, and it’s quite possibly one of the best things ever:) Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

