Max’s 2nd Birthday Party

It was a perfect day.  There was not a cloud in the sky and it was 75 degrees.  I was hoping all week for weather like this.  Max started his birthday off with a cinnamon roll breakfast, playing with his birthday present from us, a basketball hoop, and then not napping.  Because that’s his favorite thing to not do these days.Birthday_01Of course getting everything ready and set up was down to the very last minute.  Thankfully my brother, Cameron, and his girlfriend, Courtney, came over early to help me out and OHMYGOD they were the best.  They win the prize.  Birthday_07For the party I wanted blue and green and alligators.  I found this great shop on Etsy, Design {on} Paper, where there are pre-made invites and all you have to do is provide a photo and the information and BAM! you have a super awesome invitation ready to print.  Along with the invite I ordered the party kit which came with a happy birthday banner and all kinds of little cutouts (which I didn’t get to use many of because of time and certain things not panning out like I had hoped.  Oh well!).  I printed up all 24 of his monthly photos and had Courtney and Cameron string them together.  I covered the tables with brown wrapping paper from the dollar store and left crayons on them.  Birthday_08Of course I wanted some nice photos of Max in his little bow tie I made before he got filthy and covered with food.  But sadly this was the best I got.  I asked a friend to take some quick pics of us as a family and they didn’t come out great.  We had splotchy shadows all over our faces and in each photo someones face looks ridiculous.  (I made up for that on Easter though.)  I released Max to do what he wanted and we had a party!Birthday_05We also had an Easter egg hunt!  Where I’m pretty sure Max consumed more sugar than he ever has in his entire life.Birthday_03And of course there was cake.  My mom ordered the cake and I was very pleased with the way it came out.  Also, it was delicious.Birthday_02^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^Birthday_04^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^Birthday_06^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^Birthday_09

Max is a very, very loved little boy.

This time around I realized I needed to do a few things differently:

1) I can’t do it all.  I want to, so badly, but I need help.

2) Hire a photographer.  Seriously.  I was too wound up to run around and take photos and all I wanted was a few nice photos of Max and our little family, and all the details and all the guests.  Ok, I want photos of EVERYTHING.  And I can’t do it on my own.

3) RELAX.  And have fun.

I think Max had a fabulous time.  There were so many friends to play with, and bubbles to pop and it really was a great afternoon.

Check out Max’s first birthday party here.  And check out his 24 month recap here.

Leave a Reply

