2.5

This is my favorite, right here.  This age.  I think.  Everyone’s all But the terrible twos.  Yeah, we’ve got that.  But when he’s not terrible he’s just the best ever.

Every morning when he wakes up he greets me with the most emphatic “HI!” and even if it’s too early to be up it just melts me.  And hugs.  So many hugs.  And he pats your back while he’s hugging you and he rests his big little head on your shoulder and I just want to hold him forever like that.Summa_02With the snuggly, warm good comes the downright awful.  He can throw a tantrum.  He can scream.  He hits, kicks, bites sometimes.  Most tantrums stem from some sort of power control.  He’s very independent and must do everything on his own.  When he isn’t able to it’s the end of everything.  He’s angry, I get angry.  There’s yelling and throwing (on his part) and tears (both of us, sometimes).  It’s not pretty and it’s not easy.  Some days I feel like he’s been sent here to test me, to see just how much I can handle and to find out what my breaking point is.

But I love him.  More than anything.2.5_1Rob and I have those moments every single day where he’s doing something so precious cute adorable that we look at each other with that look.  You know, when you’re both thinking about how you absolutely could not love him more.  He’s full of magic and love and imagination.2.5_2Imagination!  He plays pretend!  We are always pretend eating bananas and pumpkins and going to the zoo and being tigers.  And a “pwisess”.  He loves being a princess.  He picked out a tutu at a children’s second hand sale and I bought it for him.  I don’t even know where he got the idea of a princess, but somehow he did and he likes it.  And I love watching him be a pwisess.

This post was supposed to go up weeks ago but I completely forgot about it, honestly.  And then we went on vacation, Max’s first big trip!  On a plane and a boat!  More details on that will come as soon as I have the time to sit down and sift through photos.  But let’s just say that Max had the best time because of course he did.  

2.5 year old Max is great.  Plain and simple.

One thought on “2.5

Leave a Reply

